Sea Lions

At Sealand, the Sea Lions make their show 3 times a day. You will assist to a surprising demonstration of complicity between Gaston (210kg, born: 03/07/1999 at Sealand Aquarium), Claudia Claudia (110kg, born: 01/07/2010 at Parc Le Pal in France), Iris (80kg, born: 19/07/2012 in Belgium) and Luna (75kg, born: 21/07/2013 in Belgium). But also a playful exchange between the trainers and the public.

infos

water
340 m3
species
1
temperature
15/20 °C
specimens
4
INFORMATIONS

The main pool for the sea lions has a volume of 250m3 sea water, his temperature round the 15, 20°C depending on the seasons. They mainly eat sprats and capelans fish all year long and herrings during the winter. Their rations changes depending on the weight of the animal and the season.

The sea lion is a carnivorous specie belonging to the marine mammals family. Not to be confused with seals or sea elephants. Indeed the sea lion as a pair of small external ears and can easily move on the ground with his front flippers, in contrary of his cousin the seal.

4 POOLS

Main: 250 m3 - Outside: 50 m3 - Inside: 25 m3 - small: 15 m3 - We also have 3 dry spaces with almost 100m² in total - In Sealand, the sea lions are not inside boxes during the night.

Sea lions like to play and showing it, with balloons or hoops, they are also real acrobats, full of dexterity and balance. They are really powerful and agile animals full of gentleness and tenderness.

Pedagogic booklet

Download the booklet

Les otaries

À l’aquarium Sealand de Noirmoutier, en Vendée, les otaries accomplissent leur prouesses 3 fois par jour. Vous assisterez à une surprenante démonstration de complicité entre Gaston (210kg, né le 03/07/1999 à l'aquarium de Noirmoutier), Claudia (110kg, née le 01/07/2010 au Parc Le Pal en France), Iris (80kg, née le 19/07/2012 en Belgique) et Luna (75kg, née le 21/07/2013 en Belgique). Mais aussi un échange espiègle avec les dresseurs et avec le public.

infos

eau
340 m3
espèces
1
température
15/20 °C
spécimens
4
INFORMATIONS

Le bassin principal des otaries a un volume de 250m3 d'eau de mer, sa température est entre 15 et 20°C en fonction des saisons. Les otaries se nourrissent principalement de sprats et de capelans toute l'année et de harengs en hiver. Leur ration varie en fonction du poids des individus et des saisons.

L’otarie (Otariidae) ou Lion de mer, est une espèce carnivore qui fait parti de la famille des mammifères marins. Il ne faut pas la confondre avec le phoque où l’éléphant de mer. En effet l’otarie possède de petites oreilles externes et est capable de se déplacer aisément sur terre grâce à ses membres avant, contrairement à son cousin le phoque. 
4 bassins

Bassin principal : 250 m3 - Bassin extérieur : 50 m3 - Bassin intérieur : 25 m3 - Petit bassin de 15 m3 - Nous avons également 3 espaces au sec de près de 100 m² au total - À Sealand, les otaries ne sont pas rentrées dans des box la nuit.

Les lions de mer aiment jouer et nous le montrer, que ce soit aux jeux de ballons ou de cerceaux, elles sont aussi de vraies acrobates, pleines d’adresse et d’équilibre. Impressionnantes de puissance et d’agilité, ce sont aussi des mammifères pleins de tendresse et de douceur.

Carnet pédagogique

Télécharger le carnet